Linkage Bulletin for week commencing 8th January 2018

Notices for week beginning 8th January 2018

 

For your prayers

The Harrison and Cowderoy families

Evelyn Nicolson

Mary Bates


St Andrew’s Rota

Flowers: Amanda

Sides persons: Christine, Amanda

 

St Mary’s Rota

Flowers n/a

Sides persons: Jonny North and John Dymond

This week

Tuesday 9th January

17.00 Fellowship Group – Croftamie

 

Wednesday 10th January

10.00 Callander

Mark 1:29-39

11.00 The funeral of John Brommage – Aberfoyle Cemetery

 

Saturday 13th January

11.00 Memorial Service for the late Iain Harrison at Killearn Kirk

18.30 Callander Filling Station at the Deli Eccose Callander

David Todd will be the speaker for the evening. He is the Associate Pastor of St John’s Church in Linlithgow.

 

Sunday 14th January

The Second Sunday of Epiphany

Collect

Almighty God,

in Christ you make all things new:

transform the poverty of our nature by the riches of your grace,

and in the renewal of our lives

make known your heavenly glory;

through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,

who is alive and reigns with you,

in the unity of the Holy Spirit,

one God, now and for ever.

10.00 Callander

1.Sam.3.1-10

Rev.5.1-10

John 1.43-end

 

11.15 Aberfoyle

1.Sam.3.1-10

Rev.5.1-10

John 1.43-end

Wednesday 17th January 2018

10.00 Callander

Mark 3:1-6

 

Thursday 18th January

19.30 Aberfoyle Vestry meets

 

Sunday 21st January

The third Sunday of Epiphany

St Mary’s

Third Sunday at Three Concert Series

David Hamilton Organ Recital

An hour-long concert of organ music spanning five centuries

 

Wednesday 24th January

No Midweek Communion at Callander – Clergy Conference

 

Saturday 27th January

Episcopal Synod convenes at Perth

 

Future Dates

Wednesday 14th February

Ash Wednesday

 

Sunday 18th February

St Mary’s

Third Sunday at Three Concert Series

Sunday 25th February

Aberfoyle Lent Group

The illustrated talk given over two sessions starting today is entitled ‘A long road to a foretaste of Heaven’ Each session will be held after the morning service after a short refreshment break and will finish promptly.

Sunday 4th March

Second Lent Group

Sunday 11th March

Mothering Sunday

Tuesday 13th March

Callander Vestry meets

Sunday 18th March

Passion Sunday

St Mary’s

Third Sunday at Three Concert Series

Programme to be announced

Sunday 25th March

Palm Sunday

 

Holy Week begins

Monday 26th March

19.30 Joint devotion Callander Kirk Hall

Tuesday 27th March

19.30 Joint devotion Callander Kirk Hall

Wednesday 28th March

19.30 Joint devotion Callander Kirk Hall

 

Thursday 29th March

Maundy Thursday

19.30 St Andrew’s ‘In Memorium’

A dramatic re-enactment of the Last Supper

Friday 30th March

Good Friday

 

10.30 St Mary’s Devotion

12.00 St Andrew’s Devotion

19.30 Joint devotion Callander Kirk Hall

 

Sunday 1st April

Easter Day

Clocks go forward one hour

8.00 St Anthony Balfron Holy Communion BCP

10.00 St Andrews

11.15 St Mary’s

 

Our campaign to assist Start Up Stirling is ongoing to allow contributions of the following items to be delivered to the tray in church on any Sunday. Thank you to all who contribute.

Tinned meat/fish/veg/beans, soup/fruit

Dried foods

Ready meals

Cooking sauces

Breakfast cereals

UHT milk

Tea/coffee/sugar

Snacks

Toiletries

Cleaning products

Household goods –  good quality crockery, cutlery, towels, pots and pans.

No fresh fruit nor vegetables please.